UNKNOWN PLEASURES

Originally posted on CAREER SUICIDE:

ICE AGE ART: ARRIVAL OF THE MODERN MIND, BRITISH MUSEUM, LONDON, 7th FEBRUARY-23rd MAY 2013

01172513_001

The oldest known articulated figure, from central Europe in the Ice Age, carved from mammoth ivory.

My review of Ice Age Art at the British Museum goes like this: it’s interesting, go and see it. The British Museum is one of my favourite museums in the world anyway; how could it not be when it’s full of all the brilliant stuff we plundered from around the world while we had an empire and we could get away with it? Their little Ice Age video installation is quite poor, though. Provincial Chinese museum of Communist art level of quality. Seriously, British Museum, I’m a professional and I do that kind of thing for a living: email me. Or at least contact somebody who knows what they’re doing.

View original 828 more words

